Student Cooking: Salmon

This will be the first time I blog about food and possibly not the last. Since returning from Asia, I’ve loved food more than ever. Every time a society at uni holds an eating event, I am straight there and it’s great being back in the UK where I have access to so many different types of cuisine and I don’t have to worry about my health after eating something.

I recently joined The Orchard at Tesco. After giving all my details and filling in some surveys about my spending habits I was able to join their programmes where they send me vouchers to spend on something specific in store and then I have to give my opinion on it through social media. Thanks Tesco! The first voucher I got was to be spent on fresh fish, so I bought a pair of salmon fillets, here’s what I did to make my quick and easy student friendly meal last night.

My original idea for the salmon was to marinate it in honey and soy sauce, bake it for 25 minutes and serve it over a bed of rice, but by the time I got home it was 9.30pm and…

I had no time

I was pretty hungry and needed something quick so decided to make Chilli and Sour Cream Salmon Pasta, a recipe I just invented by myself. At first I wasn’t sure whether the sour cream would make or break the meal, but it was a good choice to put it in as my salmon was quite spicy and I had to use the sour cream anyway before it went funny.

Ingredients (Serves one):

1 cup of pasta
1/2 red pepper, chopped into small chunks
1 spring onion, chopped into rings
1 salmon fillet, skinned and cut into chunks
Drizzle of olive oil
1 tsp garlic granules (or fresh)
1.5 tsp chilli flakes
1 tsp paprika
1 tbsp sour cream

Method:

1. Put the pasta on to cook for 9 minutes, or until al dente.
2. Cut up all the ingredients as stated.
3. Heat a small frying pan on a medium heat, add the olive oil and wait until hot.
4. Add the spring onions, garlic and chilli flakes, stir so that all the onions are covered with spices, cook for 1 minute.
5. Add the peppers and paprika, stir fry for another 3 minutes.
6. Add the salmon and cook for a further 5 minutes until when it flakes away there are no raw bits.
7. Drain the pasta and place in a bowl, add the salmon and pepper mixture and stir.
8. Add the sour cream and stir again, it’s ready!

This took me no longer than 15 minutes to prepare and I had all of the ingredients in the cupboard. The pepper can be substituted for anything similar, celery, mushrooms etc. In hindsight I would have taken a photo of my creation but I didn’t think I would blog about this this week so I don’t have a picture, sorry!

Although it’s more expensive that chicken (my preferred student friendly meat), I would recommend the fresh salmon from Tesco. It felt lighter and less meaty which was what I wanted to eat at 9.45pm. Eating fish is important for me and I try to eat it once a week but normally I choose tinned tuna because it’s easier. I would definitely choose the salmon again to treat myself to something, especially when Tesco have offers on it (currently these twin packs are £4 each, 2 for £7 or 3 for £10).

Boneless Salmon Fillets
6 thoughts on “Student Cooking: Salmon

      1. Ema Jones

        Well, I find the garlic cloves flavor very strong. Garlic salt quenches your craving for garlic and is not strong either. I don’t prefer too much salt either, will eliminate/reduce salt used in the recipe.

  1. hahaha this cracked me up. I’m not even a student, but this is the way I feel every time I’ve ever considered cooking salmon…I don’t have time for that!!

Leave a Comment

