Taken 3

I’m not usually one for film or book reviews, but today, I saw the advert for Taken 3. To be honest, I wasn’t too impressed and am unsure whether I want to watch the film or not when it’s released next month.

Poster

First of all, Liam Neeson tells someone on the phone that their mother has been killed (not taken as the title suggests). I’m assuming this mother is his ex-wife who was never a protagonist in either of the previous taken films. Also, Taken 2 wasn’t really a film I would recommend others to watch. The scenes running along the rooftops were impressive, but with all the bombs it just felt like an American was going into Europe (was it Turkey?), blowing up all of these great buildings and killing a load of mafia.

I don’t know.

The first film I found captivating, I saw it for the first time in a hotel room in Chile and have watched it twice since – unusual for me as I’m not a fan of movies. The mixture of action, real life issues that society ignores and pursuit of bad people was a winning combination. But when the hero himself got “taken” in the second film, it seemed a bit ridiculous after how clever the character came across in the first film.

At the end of the second film, which alluded to a third, I vowed I wouldn’t watch the third but now I am considering it as I’m wondering what will happen and there are no books to read to find out for myself.

What do you think? Will you go to see Taken 3 this January?

Leave a Comment

