Unsubscribing

During the summer months, I found I had a lot of time to myself, with no full time work or studies, I ended up subscribing to a lot of blogs, email services etc. And somehow I made time to read most of them, my ‘blog’ subfolders of my inbox never had more than 30 unread messages, I was on top of everything.

Jump to China and after the first few weeks where I didn’t have any access to emails on a computer and then a very busy life filled with homework, revision, Chinese clubs and making new friends and my ‘blog’ subfolders are incredibly full – with over 700 unread messages between the two. I don’t have time to read all these unread posts, nor keep up to date with the new posts that come each day so I’ve been unsubscribing to emails that are no longer applicable to me.

I’ve unsubscribed from websites which don’t really provide news, just entertainment [sorry Buzzfeed], shops that emailed me with discount codes and a how-to blog where a girl makes all these great creations from household objects [they were really cool, but I never did any of them myself].

It feels a bit sad, unsubscribing from these websites and people, but along with finishing my homework, extra Chinese study, writing my diary, marathon training and sleep, I simply don’t have enough time to read all these posts. I’ve realised I’m the type of person who doesn’t like to miss out on things, I’ll join lots of societies, or after reading one post, I’ll subscribe for the emails. I think unsubscribing is the first step in making my life and ‘to-do list’ a little less complicated.

Quote
Quote
3 thoughts on “Unsubscribing

Leave a Comment

