Her Campus

As my regular readers may be aware of, I am not only a member of the Her Campus Blogger Network but during my past three years at university, I was also a contributor and intern at Her Campus Nottingham. Her Campus is an online global magazine, a community of writers that was founded by Harvard graduates in 2010. In a few years, it has expanded immensely to now have over 270 chapters across 7 countries. The Her Campus homepage is one I regularly visit to read articles about beauty, love, life, career and university – some of the contributors have gone on to work at top end magazines and newspapers like Glamour, Vogue, The Washington Post, showing how successful the work we produce is.

In my first semester as part of the HC Nottingham chapter, I was a copy editor, proof reading and editing my peer’s work before it got published on the website. I received a couple of articles each weekend to go through and I really enjoyed the behind the scenes sneak preview of content before it went live.

In HC Nottingham’s second year, I was on my year abroad, but applied to be a writer. I wrote a mixture of health and travel articles about Spanish food, Chinese food in China as well as other topical pieces such as an interview about Halloween in Mexico. I ended the year by writing the 20 reasons to stay on your year abroad forever which is one of my favourite articles so far.

Her Campus Nottingham Team 2014-15
Her Campus Nottingham Team 2014-15

Then in my fourth and final year of university at Nottingham, I started to write about local Nottingham events and university life. My varsity inspired UoN vs NTU articles here and here did well in the run up to the Varsity series and I also got the chance to watch some great live dance and theatre productions on campus and review them. I did a series of interviews with Campus Celebrities, reviewed the Caves experience in Nottingham and some of the university societies events. This year’s Campus Correspondents, really pushed us for content and there were loads of opportunities to get involved and write.

For our great content, this year HC Nottingham was awarded in the annual Her Campus awards and it is such a pleasure to be part of an award winning team of journalists. We also got upgraded to be a Platinum level chapter, the highest in the three years. I had great fun as an intern at Her Campus as it helped me to feel like an integral part of university, as we reported on campus affairs and interviewed our own classmates on campus. We have a wide audience comprising of university students and staff, as well as alumni and the interns’ friends and families.

So how can YOU get involved with Her Campus? There are several ways, first click on ‘My Campus’ at Her Campus to see if your school or university has a chapter and get in contact with the CCs. If you find your university doesn’t have a chapter, you can become a Campus Correspondent, simply click here for more info on starting your own chapter, to bring HC to your university community. The applications close on August 15 and it’s a great way to gain journalistic experience, see the picture if you need more reasons to join.

Applications for Campus Correspondents now open!
Applications for Campus Correspondents now open!

I highly recommend HC for anyone who loves to read and/or write. The opportunities to get involved in a community are immense and there are plenty of giveaways, events and exciting articles uploaded daily. What are you waiting for?

HCXO

One comment

Leave a Comment